Marselinho elected as the best player, Dimitar Berbatov was awarded by the ABF for his football achievements


25 Май 2017

On 25 May the ABF held the 17th edition of the awarding ceremony for the Best Player of the Season.

The inquiry for the Best Football Player is unique - all professional football players vote to choose the best among themselves. For second consecutive year the ABF involved the female players to vote for the Best Female Player.

The players in Bulgaria have chosen Marselinho from the champions Ludogorets for the Best player of the season. He is crowned with this special distinction for the second time in the last 3 years. Marselinho triumphed in 2015, in 2016 he was second, and now he was again voted for the Best Player. Todor Nedelev from Botev Plovdiv and the goalkeeper of Ludogorets Vladislav Stoyanov are the runner-ups.

The players elected the coach of PFC Ludogorets Georgi Dermendzhiev for the best coach of the season. He is followed by Nikolay Kirov from Botev Plovdiv, whose team won the Bulgarian Cup, and Veselin Velikov from Dunav.

Kiril Despodov from CSKA is the Best Young player, followed by Bozhidar Kraev from Levski and Antonio Vutov from Botev Plovdiv.

This year's special award for his football achievements was given to Dimitar Berbatov. He was awarded by the President of the ABF Doncho Donev.

For second year the ABF announces the Best female player. Silvia Radoyska from the team of the National Sports Academy is chosen to be the best by her teammates for the second year. Runner-ups in this category are Nikoleta Boycheva from Burgas nad Nora Dimitrova from LP Supersport.

The Bulgarian national Under-19 team was awarded the prize for the year's achievement for their qualification for the UEFA European Under-19 Championship that will be held this summer in Georgia. The whole team, together with their coach, received tickets from the ABF for the charity match ALL STARS 2017, organized by the foundations of Dimitar Berbatov and Lius Figo and which will be played in Sofia. Georgi Boychev, the Secretary General of the ABF gave the award to the coach of the team Angel Stoykov, who was accompanied by some of the national team players.

The brothers Ilko Pirgov and Dimitar Pirgov, respectively from Lokomotiv Plovdiv and Levski were awarded with another special award, named after the Bulgarian popular player Trifon Ivanov. The award is given to them for showing strong character.

Top scorer is the Romanian striker of Ludogorets Claudiu Keseru, who has scored 22 goals in the First League and a total of 31 in all the tournaments. His teammate Svetoslav Dyakov was awarded for the most permanent player.

Petko Hristov from Slavia took the award for the most perspective player.